About Albania - Location

About Albania

The Republic of Albania is situated in the South East region of Europe, South-West of the Balkan Peninsula, along the Adriatic and the Ionian Seas. It is positioned between these geographical coordinates: 39o 38’ (Konispol) and 42o 39’ (Vermosh) south-north, 19o 16’ (Sazan Island) and 21o 40’ (Vernik village, Korca) west-east.
The territory of Albania of 28 748 km2 and its population is 3.1 million inhabitants( april 2001). The administrative division of the country consists of 12 prefectures, 36 districts, 374 communes/municipalities.

The Web Discover Albania